行业标准

行业标准

在标准领域中,规范被分为三个递进级别:企业标准、事实标准和行业标准。当设计要素在全公司范围内被采用时,则可达到公司标准。事实标准通常是在企业标准中发展而来,作为同一个行业的解决方案(比如在Android手机中使用微型USB接口)。

行业标准是由一些参与方制定的正式规范,以缩小精确应用的差异。其目的是提高兼容性、性能和效率。实现这些目标需要在不同的参与方群体中达成共识,因此,需要更多的调查研究和时间。

作为一家连接器公司,Samtec提供可与许多类型硬件和软件进行交互的产品。这促使我们需要遵守各类行业标准。我们参与的大多数行业标准主要涉及:

  • 传输协议(主要是定义机器语言的软件和固件以允许进行通信)
  • 硬件(物理机电设备)
  • 互连(电缆和连接器)
  • 子系统(通常是附加卡或载卡,包括定义机电和机械的功能性合规规范)

计算系统、子系统、和组件

本节主要讨论各种有关计算应用方面的标准。为实现最佳的数据速率,嵌入式计算系统依赖于现代互连架构。Samtec提供各种高速互连解决方案来满足这些需求。

行业标准 描述
行业标准 描述
HSMC  

Altera® HSMC定义了高速夹层卡接口的电气和机械性能。该规范对夹层卡与主板之间的通信和连接进行了标准化。

HSMC标识
PC/104  

PC/104联盟成立于1992年2月,基于使台式计算机技术适应嵌入式应用的愿景。PC/104™虽然小巧,但设计简单而优雅,同时在地面和空间提供坚固耐用的性能。PC/104™技术将过去技术的成功与未来创新的信心融为一体。

PC104标识
PISMO  

与平台无关的存储模块PISMOTM规格解决了有关寻找移动设备最佳IC组合的问题。PISMOTM标准提供了方便、可互换的内存测试板。通过实现更短的设计周期和更快的上市时间,PISMOTM板可大幅降低设计的复杂性。

PISMO标识
SFF-SIG  

SFF-SIG(小型特殊兴趣小组)是一个标准系列,主要致力于模块化嵌入式计算机和控制器的开发。

在定义单板系统和COM(计算机模块)外形时,许多SFF-SIG规范都使用经过验证的接口,如PCIExpress®和USB。

SIG标识
VITA  

VITA成员共同致力于定义和开发关键计算机总线、电路板和体系规范,如VME总线,PCI夹层卡(PMC),VXS,VPX和FMC等等。VITA于1984年成立以来,形成了近100个工作团队,开发了对于全世界关键嵌入式系统设计师来说尤为重要的各项规范和标准。体系覆盖从医学成像到太空发射控制,从半导体加工到国防系统,无一不依托基于VITA技术打造的产品。

VITA标识

信号传输和 I/O

传输协议是目前最流行的核心标准,用于支持集成处理器之间的通信。各种支持性I/O子系统扩展了应用范围,包括外部设备。协议和I/O共同确保了可靠的传输性能,这对当今的计算系统至关重要。

行业标准 描述
行业标准 描述
HT3  

HyperTransport®联合会是一家国际公认的标准制定组织,致力于编制开放标准协议,帮助计算系统设计人员提高整体性能。

HyperTransport标识
IEEE  

IEEE(电气和电子工程师协会)及其成员,通过其在超过160个国家的423,000名成员及这些成员高度引用的出版物、会议、技术标准以及专业和教育活动,激励全球社会创造更美好的明天。IEEE是全球工程、计算和技术信息的可信赖“声音”。

标准IEEE标识
JIIA  

日本工业成像协会 (JIIA) 是一家总部设在日本的组织,旨在领导工业成像技术创新。JIIA为与工业成像相关的组织推广全球社区,从而促进全球工业成像标准和产品的开发。

JIIA标识
SFP  

SFP/SFP+(小型可插拔式)是一种可热插拔的紧凑型光学模块收发器,常用于电信和数据通信应用。

标准SFP标识
SATA  

串行AT附件 (SATA) 是一种计算机总线接口,可将主机总线适配器连接到大容量存储设备。其中包括硬盘、光盘和固态驱动器。

串行ATA标识
SMPTE  

自1916年以来,SMPTE(电影和电视工程师协会)一直在推动着媒体和娱乐领域的许多重大进步​​。

从彩色电视到8k UHD视频,SMPTE的工作每天都影响着我们所有人。SMPTE拥有超过7000名成员,从成像专家到学生,他们继续开发着对电影和电视发展至关重要的标准。

SMPTE标识
USB  

USB (通用串行总线) 是市场上最常见的行业标准之一。其应用不同于连接器和电缆规格、连接协议以及外围设备的电源。

USB标识

测试,调试和编程

从相对简单的操作到复杂的数据分析,测试、调试和编程的过程可以有很大不同。为帮助完成这些工作,制定了各种物理标准,以提供较高的处理能力和兼容性,同时保持最少的主板固定元件和端子输出。

行业标准 描述
行业标准 描述
ARM  

ARM RealView硬件平台适用于架构和CPU评估、硬件和软件设计以及ASIC仿真。

ARM标识
JTAG  

Joint Test Action Group(也称为JTAG)是IEEE标准1149.1的常用名。此标准为测试板级互连连接器定义了一种特殊方法,这种方法也称为边界扫描。简言之,JTAG的建立初衷是测试常见问题,但后来已经成为一种配置设备的方式。JTAG硬件可以解读五个不同信号的信息:TDI(测试数据输入)、TDO(测试数据输出)、TMS(测试模式选择)、TCK(测试时钟)和TRST(测试报告 - 可选)。

JTAG标识
Nexus 5001  

IEEE-ISTO 5001-1999,针对全球嵌入式处理器调试接口的Nexus 5001论坛标准,是开放型行业标准,为嵌入式处理器的软件开发和调试提供通用接口。

蜂窝标识
Power.org  

Power Architecture最初是由IBM在1980年代早期开发的。Power Architecture技术在很多应用中使用,覆盖从消耗性电子产品到超级计算机。在POWER.org的促进下,最近采纳的高速信号协议要求应进行新的研究,研究如何有效进行连接器布线和调试、开发新电缆以及能够解决现有问题的整体成本效益解决方案。

标准MPOWER标识

硅开发

开发人员很清楚地意识到对基于硅晶片的平台的设计需求不断发展。大多数人面临的挑战是如何平衡性能需求的增加和常见问题,如尺寸、功耗、上市时间和成本。一个流行的解决方案是利用FPGA技术来代替专有硅晶片。Samtec为硅晶片行业提供支持,使终端用户能够将其产品目标提升到一个新的高度。

行业先锋 描述
行业先锋 描述
Altera  

Altera®开发套件为工程师提供完整高质量的设计环境。简化了设计流程,减少投放到市场所需时间。Altera®已选择Samtec高速互连解决方案应用于其电路板和套件中。

Altera标识
Maker Kits  

发明者、爱好者和学生组成了深受科技影响的DIY社区的中坚力量,这被称为“创客运动” (Maker Movement)。从机器人和无人机到艺术、工艺品和乐器,创客们使用各种开源电子平台开发交互式产品。

标准制造标识
Microsemi  

Microsemi为FPGA和SoC FPGA设计提供了一系列开发套件和开发板,包括Libero SoC设计软件、电源及编程和调试工具,以便您开展下一步设计。

Microsemi标识
Xilinx  

Xilinx®及其Alliance计划成员提供行业内最为全面的FPGA开发板和设计服务,帮助开发者在各种应用需求下加快获利时效。Xilinx®已选择了Samtec高速连接器和电缆互连解决方案用于其最新一代评估板(采用Kintex UltraScale和Virtex UltraScale FPGA)。

Xilinx标识

其他标准会员资格

联系销售

电子邮件
公司
行业
预计年用量
系列
消息
.
.
.
The 15th annual Manufacturing Leadership Awards Gala, by the National Association of Manufacturers, took place on June 12, 2019. The Manufacturing Leadership Awards honor manufacturing companies and individual manufacturing leaders that are shaping the future of global manufactur...
During a recent visit to Seattle, I learned about the Great Seattle Fire of 1889. In less than 24 hours the entire business district, about 25 city blocks, its railway stations and several wharves were destroyed. Instead of moving the city to start over, they decided to rebuild, ...
Data, data, data is everywhere. From streaming video to edge computing, system designers are challenged to meet the needs of the networks (and consumers). From servers and switches to networking equipment, OEMs developing next-gen devices with high performance communications face...
I want to believe. Not only could Eugene Victor Tooms hibernate for 30-year stints, but he could squeeze and elongate his body to pass through narrow openings. In the supernatural thriller The X-Files, Tooms managed to fit through elevator shafts, air vents, chimneys, and almost ...
One topic that garnered much interest at the Samtec booth at the International Microwave Symposium was a dynamic stress test of Samtec’s microwave cable. This demonstration proves that our low-loss, microwave cable withstands high flex cycles and still maintains signal integrity....

Industry Standards

Industry Standards

In the Standards world, specifications are categorized to three ascending levels: Corporate, De Facto, and Industry Standard. Corporate Standards are achieved when design elements are adopted company-wide. De Facto Standards often grow out of a Corporate Standard to act as a solution in a common industry (like using micro-USB in Android phones).

Industry Standards are formal specifications produced by a body of participants assembled to narrow variations on a precise application. The purpose is improved compatibility, performance, and efficiency. Achieving these goals requires consensus within a diverse group of participants, and as a result, greater research and time are necessary.

As a connector company, Samtec provides products that interact with many types of hardware and software. This drives our need to adhere to a variety of Industry Standards. The majority of Industry Standards we engage address:

  • Transmission protocols (primarily software & firmware defining machine language to allow communication)
  • Hardware (physical electro-mechanical devices)
  • Interconnection (cables & connectors)
  • Sub-systems (typically daughter or carrier cards which include functional compliance specifications defining electro-mechanicals & mechanicals)

Computing Systems, Subsystems, and Components

This section is focused on Standards addressing a wide array of computing-related applications. In order to achieve optimal data rates, embedded computing systems rely on modern interconnection architecture. Samtec offers a variety of high-speed interconnect solutions to satisfy these requirements.

Industry Standard Description
HSMC  

Altera® HSMC defines electrical and mechanical properties of a high speed mezzanine card interface. This specification standardizes the way in which mezzanine cards communicate and connect to host boards.

hsmc logo
PC/104  

The PC/104 Consortium was established in February 1992 based on the vision to adapt desktop computer technology for embedded applications. Although small, PC/104™ has proven to be simple and elegant in design, while providing rugged performance on land and space. PC/104™ technology merges the successes of past technologies with the confidence of future innovations.

pc104 logo
PISMO  

The platform-independent storage module PISMOTM specifications address issues regarding finding the right combination of ICs for mobile devices. The PISMOTM Standard provides convenient, interchangeable memory test boards. PISMOTM boards significantly reduce complications in design by allowing for shorter design cycles and faster time-to-market.

pismo logo
SFF-SIG  

SFF-SIG (Small Form Factor Special Interest Group) is a Standards family primarily focused on the development of modular embedded computers and controllers.

Many SFF-SIG specifications utilize proven interfaces such as PCI Express® and USB when defining single-board systems and COM (computer-on-module) form factors.

sig logo
VITA  

VITA members have worked together to define and develop key computer bus, board, and system specifications such as VMEbus, PCI Mezzanine Card (PMC), VXS, VPX, FMC and many more. Since VITA's inception in 1984, nearly 100 working groups have been formed to develop specifications and standards important to designers of critical embedded systems around the world. Systems from medical imaging to space launch control, semiconductor processing to defense systems, have depended on products based on VITA Technologies.

vita logo

Signal Transmission and I/O

Transmission protocols are at the core of today's most popular Standards to enable communication between integral processors. A wide range of supporting I/O subsystems extend the boundary to include external devices. Together, protocols and I/O ensure reliable transmission, which is critical to today's computing systems.

Industry Standard Description
HT3  

The HyperTransport® Consortium is an internationally recognized standards body focused on producing open-standard protocols that enable computing-system designers to improve overall performance.

hypertransport logo
IEEE  

IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its members inspire a global community to innovate for a better tomorrow through its more than 423,000 members in over 160 countries, and its highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities. IEEE is the trusted “voice” for engineering, computing, and technology information around the globe.

standards ieee logo
SFP  

SFP/SFP+ (Small Form-Factor Pluggable) is a compact, hot-pluggable optical module transceiver commonly used in telecommunication and data communications applications.

standards sfp logo
SATA  

Serial AT Attachment (SATA) is a computer bus interface that connects host bus adapters to mass storage devices. These include hard disk, optical, and solid-state drives.

serial ata logo
SMPTE  

SMPTE (Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers®) has been driving many of the significant advances in media and entertainment since 1916.

From color television to 8k UHD video, SMPTE's work affects us all on a daily basis. With more than 7000 members ranging from imaging experts to students, SMPTE continues to develop Standards crucial to film and television development.

smpte logo
USB  

USB (Universal Serial Bus) is one of the most common industry standards on the market. Its applications vary from connector and cable specifications, connection protocols, and power supplies for peripheral devices.

usb logo

Test, Debug, and Programming

The process of testing, debugging and programming can vary from relatively simple operations to complex data analysis. To aid in these endeavors, various physical Standards have been defined to provide high processing power and compatibility while maintaining minimal board real-estate and pin-outs.

Industry Standard Description
ARM  

ARM RealView Hardware Platforms are suitable for architecture and CPU evaluation, hardware and software design, and ASIC emulation.

arm logo
JTAG  

Joint Test Action Group, also known as JTAG, is the common name for IEEE standard 1149.1. This standard defines a particular method for testing board-level interconnects, which is also called Boundary Scan. In short, JTAG was created as a way to test for common problems, but lately has become a way of configuring devices. The JTAG hardware interprets information from five different signals: TDI (Test Data In), TDO (Test Data Out), TMS (Test Mode Select), TCK (Test Clock), and TRST (Test Report-optional).

jtag logo
Nexus 5001  

IEEE-ISTO 5001-1999, The Nexus 5001 Forum Standard for a Global Embedded Processor Debug Interface, is an open industry standard that provides a general-purpose interface for the software development and debug of embedded processors.

waffles logo
Power.org  

The Power Architecture was originally developed by IBM in the early 1980s. Power Architecture technology is used in many applications from consumer electronics to supercomputers. Facilitated by POWER.org, recent adoption of the high speed signal protocol required a new search for effective trace and debug connectors, new cables, and overall cost effective solutions that resolved a number of existing issues.

standards mpower logo

Silicon Development

Developers are well aware of the ever-evolving demands of designing silicon-based platforms. Most face the challenge of balancing increased performance requirements with common concerns such as size, power consumption, time-to-market and cost. A popular solution is utilizing FPGA technology as a substitute for proprietary silicon. Samtec supports the silicon industry which enables end users to take their product goals to the next level.

Industry Enabler Description
Altera  

Altera® development kits provide a complete, high-quality design environment for engineers. They simplify the design process and reduce time to market. Altera® has selected Samtec High Speed interconnect solutions for many of their Boards and Kits.

altera logo
Maker Kits  

Tinkerers, hobbyists, students and enthusiasts form the backbone of the tech-influenced DIY community known as the Maker Movement. Makers use various open-source electronic platforms as they develop interactive products ranging from robotics and drones to arts, crafts and musical instruments.

standards make logo
Microsemi  

Microsemi provides a selection of development kits & boards for FPGA and SoC FPGA designs that include Libero SoC design software, power, and Programming & Debug Tools to begin your next design.

microsemi logo
Xilinx  

Xilinx® and its Alliance Program Members offer the industry's most comprehensive offering of FPGA Development Boards and Design Services to help speed developer’s time-to-revenue over a wide variety of application needs. Xilinx® has selected Samtec High Speed Connector and Cable interconnect Solutions for their latest generation Evaluation Boards featuring the Kintex UltraScale and Virtex UltraScale FPGA’s.

xilinx logo

Additional Standards Memberships

.
As one of the great superheroes learned – “with great power comes great responsibility.” Even without “spidey-sense” and the ability to scale tall buildings with webbing, there is still power to be wielded with Samtec’s new mPOWER™ connectors…with incredible power comes incredibl...
Readers of the Samtec blog are familiar with the benefits of FMC and FMC+. These popular interfaces define a compact electro-mechanical expansion interface for a daughter card to an FPGA baseboard or other device with re-configurable I/O capability. VITA 57.1 has been around for ...
In February, we rolled out several back-end performance updates to Samtec.com, as well as a few upgraded applications. Here are the major updates to Samtec.com for February 2019. Updated Experience for mPOWER™ Family Page The mPOWER™ connector system is the ultimate micro, high-p...
Edge Rate®, one of Samtec’s most popular high speed, high bandwidth interconnect systems, also saves space on your PCB. Edge Rate is both the name of the contact system and the product family. The contact system is designed for high speed, high cycle, rugged applications.  With s...
Long Reach Backplane Cable This live demonstration from DesignCon 2019 shows how Samtec’s ExaMAX® backplane connector, combined with Samtec Flyover® technology, achieves high density and very long reach. Here, the reach is five meters for a rack-to-rack interconnect system. In th...